National Inland Fisheries Forum

The purpose of the Forum, whose establishment was provided for in the Inland Fisheries Act 2010, is to provide a mechanism to recognise the important contribution of a wide range of stakeholders to the policies of IFI, and their inputs into the sector generally. During its first term, a specific objective of the Forum was also to ensure that this contribution was not lost when the Regional Fisheries Boards were abolished as part of the process of establishing IFI.

The initial cycle of the Forum was launched in October 2011 and concluded its three-year term in 2014. Following a comprehensive review of the NIFF’s first cycle, its structure and function was modified to enable more effective operations. In accordance with the provision in the 2010 Act, the Minister had an input into this review process and signed off on the revised structure.

To recognise the special role of angling stakeholders, each of the main angling organisations was requested to nominate two of their members to represent their interests for the duration of the second cycle of the NIFF. These nominees were appointed to the Forum by the Minister. The process of selecting the remaining members of the new Forum was managed by the Public Appointment Service (PAS) with the support of IFI. The forum shall consist of not more than 60 members.

National Inland Fisheries Forum Members

Mr Thomas Ankettell
Mr Fergal Bell
Mr Eoin Brockert
Mr John Buckley
Mr Patrick F. Byrne
Mr Frankie Byrne
Mr Richard Caplice
Mr Der Casey
Mr Thomas Casserly
Mr Jim Clohessy
Mr Philip Comber
Mr Kieran  Connolly
Mr John Crudden
Mr Eamon Cusack
Mr Denis Dennison
Ms Irene  Fogarty
Mr Ashley Hayden
Mr Gerry Heaslip
Mr Mark Kane
Mr Martin Kearney
Mr Charles Kennedy
Mr Darragh King
Mr Paul Lawton
Mr Frank Leonard
Mr Allan Lyons
Mr Proinnsias Mac Giolla Chearra
Mr Pat  McCabe
Mr Patrick McDaid
Mr John McLaughlin
Mr Eugene Nolan
Mr Donal O'Doherty
Mr Peadar  Ó'Maolain
Mr John O'Neill
Mr Kevin  O'Sullivan
Mr Padraig Philbín
Ms Helen Rainsford
Mr Brian Reidy
Mr Judd Ruane
Mr Robert  Seward
Mr Mark Shortt
Mr Simon Toussifar
Mr Phillip Tully
Mr Peter Walsh
Mr  Peter Walsh
Mr Colin Wolfe