River Basin Districts Information

Inland Fisheries Ireland is divided into seven regional River Basin Districts(RBDs) according to river and lake catchment areas. Each RBD comprises a number of counties, or can include parts of other counties.

Eastern RBD: 

Counties covered: Wicklow, Kildare, Dublin, Meath, Westmeath, Offaly, Louth, Monaghan, and Cavan.

South Eastern RBD

Counties covered: Carlow, Wexford, Kilkenny, Waterford, Tipperary, Laois, Kildare, Offaly, Wicklow and a small part of Limerick and Cork.

South Western RBD

Counties covered: Cork, Kerry, parts of Waterford.

Shannon RBD

Counties covered: Clare, Galway, Kerry, Leitrim, Limerick, Longford, Westmeath, Offaly, Roscommon, Tipperary, Cavan, Sligo, and parts of Mayo, Cork, Laois, and Meath. 

Western RBD Galway

Counties covered: Galway, and parts of Mayo

Western RBD Ballina

Counties covered: Most of Mayo & Sligo, parts of Leitrim

North Western RBD

Counties Covered: Cavan, Donegal, Leitrim, Longford, Monaghan, and Sligo