DEPARTMENT OF THE ENVIRONMENT, CLIMATE AND COMMUNICATIONS

INLAND FISHERIES ACTS 1959 TO 2017

CONSERVATION OF SALMON AND SEA TROUT (CLOSED RIVERS) BYE-LAW NO. C.S 331, 2020

I, Eamon Ryan, Minister for the Environment, Climate and Communications, in exercise of
the powers conferred on me by section 57 of the Inland Fisheries Act 2010 (No. 10 of 2010)
(as adapted by the Communications, Climate Action and Environment (Alteration of Name of
Department and Title of Minister) Order 2020 (S.I. No. 373 of 2020)), hereby make the
following bye-law:

- (1) This bye-law may be cited as the Conservation of Salmon and Sea Trout
 (Closed Rivers) Bye-Law No. C.S. 331 of 2020.
 - (2) This bye-law comes into operation on 1 January 2021.
- 2. In this Bye-law -

"salmon" means fish of the species Salmo salar (Atlantic salmon);

"sea trout" means fish of the migratory form of *Salmo trutta*, but does not include a sea trout which is 40 centimetres or less in length measured in a straight line from the tip of the snout to the fork of the tail.

- 3. Notwithstanding anything contained in any bye-law fixing the annual close season, it is prohibited for a person to take, or attempt to take, by rod and line any salmon or sea trout from the waters of a river mentioned in column (2) of Schedule 1 opposite mention of a fishery district in column (1) of that Schedule.
- 4. Notwithstanding anything contained in any bye-law fixing the annual close season, it is prohibited for a person to take, or attempt to take, by rod and line any salmon or sea trout from the waters of a river mentioned in column (2) of Schedule 2 opposite mention of a fishery district in column (1) of that Schedule during any year from 1 January to 11 May.
- 5. The Conservation of Salmon and Sea Trout (Closed Rivers) Bye-law No. C.S. 330, 2019 is revoked.

SCHEDULE 1

Article 3

Fishery District	River
(1)	(2)
	Hanan Liffay (yangtanam of Laivlin Dom)
No. 1 or Dollin District	Upper Liffey (upstream of Leixlip Dam)
No. 1 or Dublin District	Dargle
	Vartry
	Avoca
No. 2 or Wexford District	Owenavorragh
100. 2 of Weatord District	o wonavorragii
	Owenduff
N. C. W. C. IBiri	Mahon
No. 3 or Waterford District	Tay
	Colligan
	Corrock
	Lickey
No. 4 or Lismore District	
No. 4 of Listilote District	Tourig
	Womanagh
	Upper Lee
No. 5 or Cork District	Owenacurra
	Owenshagh
No. 7 or Kerry District	Finnihy
	Owenreagh

	Emlaghmore
	Carhan
	Emlagh
	Lee (Kerry)
	Behy
	Feohanagh
	Kealincha
	Lough Fada
	Deel
	Aughyvackeen
	Annageeragh
No. 8 or Limerick District	Inagh
	Fergus Maigue
	Upper Shannon (above Parteen)
	opper shannon (above 1 arcen)
	Owenagarney
	Skivileen
	Clarinbridge
	Knock
No. 9(1) or Galway District	Aille
	Owenboliska, Spiddal
	Kilcolgan
No. 9(2) or Connemara District	Lough na Furnace
No. 10(2) or Bangor District	Owengarve

	Muingnabo
No. 11 or Ballina District	Brusna Leaffony Ballinglen
No. 12 Sligo District	Grange
No. 13 or Ballyshannon District	Abbey Ballintra (Murvagh) Laghy (Stream) Erne
No. 14 or Letterkenny District	Isle (Burn) Mill Clonmany Straid Owenamarve Swilly Donagh Culoort Glenna Glenagannon Bracky
No. 17(2) or Dundalk District	Flurry Castletown

SCHEDULE 2

(Closed to 11th May)

Article 4

No. 14 or Letterkenny District	Lackagh

GIVEN under my hand, 18 December 2020.

EAMON RYAN

Minister for the Environment, Climate

and Communications.

EXPLANATORY NOTE

(This is not part of the Bye-law and does not purport to be a legal interpretation.)

This Bye-law prohibits the taking or attempting to take by rod and line salmon and sea trout (over 40 cm) in the rivers specified in the Bye-law.

FOOTNOTE

Section 57 (7) of the Inland Fisheries Act, 2010 provides that any person aggrieved by this Bye-law may within 28 days after its publication in the Iris Oifigiúil, appeal against same to the High Court.