DEPARTMENT OF THE ENVIRONMENT, CLIMATE AND COMMUNICATIONS INLAND FISHERIES ACTS 1959 TO 2017

ANGLING BYE-LAW NO. 982, 2020

I, Eamon Ryan, Minister for the Environment, Climate and Communications, in exercise of the powers conferred on me by section 57 of the Inland Fisheries Act 2010 (No. 10 of 2010) (as adapted by the Communications, Climate Action and Environment (Alteration of Name of Department and Title of Minister) Order 2020 (S.I. No. 373 of 2020)), hereby make the following bye-law:

- 1. (1) This Bye-law may be cited as the Angling Bye-law No. 982 of 2020.
 - (2) This Bye-law comes into operation on 1 January 2021.

- 2. Notwithstanding anything contained in any Bye-law, it is prohibited for a person to use, or attempt to use, worms as bait or to use, or attempt to use, any fish hooks, other than single or double barbless hooks, in angling for any kind of fish in the waters of a river mentioned in column (2) of Schedule 1 opposite the mention of a fishery district in column (1) of that Schedule.
- 3. The Angling Bye-law No. 973, 2019 is revoked.

SCHEDULE 1

Article 2

Fishery District	River
(1)	(2)
No. 1 or Dublin District No. 2 or Wexford District	Liffey (excluding upstream of Pollaphuca dam and the River Dodder) Dargle Vartry Avoca Owenavorragh Slaney
No. 3 or Waterford District	Owenduff Mahon Tay Colligan Corrock

No. 4 or Lismore District	Lickey Tourig Womanagh Bride
No. 5 or Cork District	Owenacurra Argideen
No. 7 or Kerry District	Inny Owenshagh Finnihy Cloonee Owenreagh Emlaghmore Carhan Emlagh Lee (Kerry) Behy Owenascaul

	Milltown
	Feohanagh
	Kealincha
	Lough Fada
	Blackwater
	Deel
	Skivileen
	Aughyvackeen
	Doonbeg
No. 8 or Limerick District	Annageeragh
	Inagh
	Maigue
	Mulkear
	Feale
	Clarinbridge
No. 9(1) or Galway District	Knock
•	Aille
	Owenboliska, Spiddal
	, r

No. 9(2) or Connemara District	Lough na Furnace Screebe
No. 10(1) or Ballinakill District	Carrownisky Owenwee Bunowen
No. 10 (2) or Bangor District	Shramore Owengarve Muingnabo
No. 11 or Ballina District	Brusna Leaffony Ballinglen Cloonaghmore, (Palmerstown)

No. 12 Sligo District	Grange
	Garvogue (that part of the river downstream
	of a line drawn due north across the river from
	the north-eastern corner of the Lodge in the
	townland of Cleaveragh Demesne to the
	upstream face of Hyde Bridge in the Borough
	of Sligo)
	Abbey
	Ballintra (Murvagh) – (downstream of junction
	of Ballintra and Bridgetown Rivers)
	Laghy (Stream)
No. 13 or Ballyshannon District	Bungosteen
	Oily
	Eske
	Eany
	Duff
	Glen
No. 14 or Letterkenny District	Isle (Burn)
	Mill

	Clonmany
	Straid
	Owenamarve
	Swilly
	Donagh
	Culoort
	Lackagh ¹
	Leannan
	Glenna
	Ray
	Bracky
	Glenagannon
	Boyne (the main channel downstream of
No. 17(1) or Drogheda District	Leinster Bridge)
	Kells Blackwater (downstream of the Nine
	Eyed Bridge)
No. 17(2) or Dundalk District	Glyde

¹ Restrictions apply up to 11th May only.

Castletown
Dee (that part of the river downstream of
Cappogue Bridge)
Flurry

GIVEN under my hand, 18 December 2020.

EAMON RYAN

Minister for the Environment, Climate and Communications.

EXPLANATORY NOTE

(This is not part of the Bye-law and does not purport to be a legal interpretation).

This Bye-law prohibits the use of any fish hooks, other than single or double barbless hooks, and also prohibits the use of worms as bait in angling for all species of fish in the waters specified in the Bye-law.

FOOTNOTE

Section 57 (7) of the Inland Fisheries Act, 2010 provides that any person aggrieved by this Bye-law may within 28 days after its publication in the Iris Oifigiúil, appeal against same to the High Court.